Don’s Blog 14: Drum Channel presents Chad Smith and Top Egyptian Drummers in Cairo

Rhythm Unites East And West As Drum Channel presents Red Hot Chili Peppers Drummer Chad Smith and Top Egyptian Drummers For An Unprecedented Drumming Event In Cairo.

World-renowned musician and drumming icon Chad Smith, winner of numerous international awards and a member of Red Hot Chili Peppers and The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame, will be featured along with leading Egyptian musicians at a special musical, cultural and educational event in Cairo, Egypt on Wednesday, March 13. The unprecedented, live concert will take place at 8:00 PM at the El Sawy Culturewheel, River Hall, Sakia, Cairo and will be filmed for broadcast by US-based, drum education website DrumChannel.com.

The show will include a cross-cultural drumming session featuring Smith, top Egyptian drummer Ahmed Hesham and percussionists Donia Sami and Rania Omar, the “Buka Ladies” female drum duo. Smith will also perform with an elite group of Egypt’s most influential musicians, including Samer George on bass guitar, Faisal Foad on keyboards, Ahmed Aly on percussion and Beshoy Shenoda on accordion.

The first and largest event of its kind in the Middle East, the concert has been organized through the efforts of Mr. Tarek Ramadan of Egypt’s Technical Office for Trading, Don Lombardi, founder of American drum manufacturer, Drum Workshop, Inc, and Laura Glass of Cocolittle Media. For additional information, please contact Laura at [email protected]

3 Comments on “Don’s Blog 14: Drum Channel presents Chad Smith and Top Egyptian Drummers in Cairo”

  1. Hi, this looks AMAZING and I’m looking forward to checking it out! Just trying to be clear about the start time…so this means 8:00 PM Cairo time, correct? Which would be (I think?) 2 PM Eastern (US), 1 PM Central, 12 Noon Mountain, 11 AM California time on March 13? Just want to tune in and not miss it – thanks much!

    1. I don’t think it’s gonna be live broadcasted for commercial reasons as it will be held before RHCP’s main concert in Egypt on March 15th.

    2. Hi Greg! Thanks for your comment. The event is happening in Cairo at 8pm Cairo time, but it will not be live on Drum Channel that night. It is being filmed for us to be aired at a later date (which we are very excited about). We will be sure to alert everyone about it’s big DC debut. Thanks for being part of our DC family! Can’t wait to bring our subscribers Chad in Egypt! Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply